top of page


The Rogue State Circus: purveyors of fine original indie-folk-rock powerpop.


By turns driven, melodic, melodramatic, widescreen and a even little bit noir in

places - the happy-sad tunes of the Rogue State Circus will soon make themselves at home with you like old familiar friends.


Formed in 2009 in Northampton UK,  The Rogue State Circus quickly developed a distinctive eclectic, energetic and passionate brand of song-led Indie Folk-Rock Powerpop mixing acoustic, electric and electronic sounds and twists of flavour from classic rock, folk, new wave, alt-country, funk,  jazz and even progressive rock.   


Led by prolific songwriter singer/guitarist Jon Delaney (ex Cloudy, No Time Wasters, IDST and Funky folk band Kismet Hardy) ; The Rogue State Circus have honed and developed their sound by performing live all over the country including such venues as The International Pop Overthrow Powerpop Fest at the Cavern, Liverpool, The Musician in Leicester &The Yardbird in Birmingham.


The Rogue State Circus released their debut Studio 4 track EP “ Spectacular!” in

September 2009.

Their Debut Full LP, the 11 track “Songs from The Sea of Serenity” was released in May 2011, After nearly two years in three studios, with an Album launch event at the late lamented Fishmarket, Northampton in June 2011, followed by a series of live radio sessions and interviews.   Songs from the first LP which have received notable single airplay were "Girl In The Moon", "Tell Me I'm Wrong" "Kind of Love" and "Dandelions"

The Rogue State Circus are releasing their long awaited second LP "Songs From the Sea of Storms" during 2019.  12 original songs including some of their darkest material were recorded over a three year period with Platinum Producer Gavin Monaghan (Sherlocks, Editors, Blinders, Nizlopi, OCS, Scott Matthews) at his Magic Garden Studios in Wolverhampton. The Band all feel it's their best and most varied work to date, with tracks ranging from the Energised powerpop of "La La Life"  and "Sunday Driver" via the Americana gothic folk rock of "St Jude's Blues" to the anthemic psychedelic album closer    "Great Expectations"

The Rogue State Circus are regular performers at Regional festivals including Green Meadows,  Willow Festival, Woodfest,  have had multiple Mainstage appearances at fests such as the Umbrella Fair, The Northampton Town Festival and Northampton County Beer Fest.


Some reference points in terms of influences: XTC, Beatles, Crowded House, Squeeze, Blur, Bacharach and David, Prefab Sprout, The Divine Comedy, Bowie, Elvis Costello, Kinks, The Killers, Manic Street Preachers, Cousteau, Richard Thompson, Paul Simon, Peter Gabriel, Talk Talk, ELO, Jellyfish, Simple Minds, Big Star, Del Amitri, Springsteen, Aimee Mann, Steely Dan.

The flexible line up of the band has changed over time -

Current Rogue State Circus members are:-

Jon Delaney (vocals/acoustic guitars/occasional keyboards)

Karl Muddiman (keyboards/synthesizers)

Rai Clews (Kingdon Cajon percussion)

Jeff Roberts (bass guitar/backing vocals)

Tess Roberts (drums)

Others who have performed live or featured in RSC recordings to date include; 

Duncan Bisatt (bass/backing vocals/guitars/occasional keyboards

Paul Creedy (lead guitar/bass/drums)

Karen Angela (vocals/percussion)

Martin Webster (drums/percussion)

Simon Barr (12 string acoustic and electric guitars) 

David Cawton (lead guitar)

Stephen Hammond (upright bass/banjo)

Kevin T Ward (fretless bass)

Aaron Burbidge (drums)

Stuart Hunter (drums) 

Max Read (Backing Vocals)

Davey Ray Moor (Keyboards - ex-Cousteau) 

Chris Blanden (bass) 

Josh Clark (drums)

Cecilia La Poer Power (vocals)  

Richard J Parfitt (lead guitar ex-60ft Dolls) 


​" Truly, truly genre


​" Excellent songsmithery...

  lots of cracking pop /

  alternative songs "

​" Timeless Songs"

Some might say ... 

​" Refreshingly Original "

We'd say ... 

​" Come and see The Rogue State

  Circus - Live is where we live."

​" Join us. Go Rogue! "


bottom of page